Committee - ICT

Coordinator: Thies Nieborg
Email: ict@svia.nl

Looking for new members!
Would you like to join this committee? Send an email to to ict@svia.nl

The ICT committee is the committee that does the programming work of via.

Every second Saturday of the month we have a working afternoon at Science Park where we all work on the projects of via. If the committee interests you then you are more than welcome to drop by!

The committee manages many projects, many of these projects are open-source and can be found on Gitlab.

Viaduct is the name for the codebase our website. The website was created entirely by ourselves in Python (Flask) and Vue.js. Some of what the website can do: a CMS, member management, activity management, the exam bank, a vacancy bank, a calendar system for meetings and activities, an action points system, a tutoring system, and much more. All these components are maintained by us. New features are often requested by committees and the board or bugs need to be fixed.

Point of Sale
The PoS is our cash register system that we use in the common room and at the bar. This system was set up by us so that it fully meets the needs of via. The PoS has integration with our accounting system (Exact) and also handles direct debits, for example. We are looking for anyone who is interested in this and already has some programming experience.

A somewhat smaller group is our pretix group. Pretix is the system that handles ticket sales for us, which includes payments, queues, refunds, ticket-scanning, etc. We created a plugin for pretix so that it fits well with via's needs, such as a widget so that you can buy a ticket without leaving the website.

Devops and Kubernetes
All systems also need to keep running and we have a group for that as well. With devops you make sure that our servers are well maintained and that for example the backups work properly. We are also busy with Kubernetes, to which we are porting many of our apps. You also help if something breaks.

Committee members:

  • Joran Timmerman
  • Florens Douwes πŸ‘‘
  • Wilco Kruijer 🌚
  • βœ”οΈ Yunus Demir
  • Maico Timmerman
  • Pim Meulensteen
  • Marijn Doeve
  • Emiel Wiedijk
  • Thies Nieborg
  • Wouter Petri πŸ‘¨πŸΌβ€πŸŽ€
  • Job Kolhorn
  • Erik van Tongeren
  • Finlay Davidson
  • Dave van Wijk
  • Olaf Erkemeij
  • Rachel de Haan
  • Thymon Smits